Log in to create or edit your sites.
Tags are keywords that allow you to group multiple posts together. They also help people who are searching for specific content on your site find what they are looking for. Tags are similar to categories but categories are more general and are used for broad groupings. A website will usually have many more tags than categories.
Like Categories, there are two ways to add Post Tags. They can be added whilst adding or editing your Post or they can be added via the Tags menu option. Adding Tags while you edit your Post will add the Tags to the Tag list and automatically assign those Tags to your Post. Adding Tags using the Tags menu option will only add them to the list of available Tags but not add them to any specific posts. When you click on the Tags menu option you’ll be shown a list of Tags that you have already used on your site, along with blank fields to add new Tags.
To add a new Tag, fill in the blank fields and then click the Add New Tag button:
Name – The name is how it is titled on your site
Slug – The Slug is the URL version of the name. It’s usually all lowercase and contains only letters, numbers, and hyphens
Description – The description is usually not important but some themes will show them.
Once you add a new Tag it will appear in the list of Tags on the right side of the screen.
When hovering your cursor over each row in the list of Tags, a few links will appear beneath the Tag name.
Edit –Allows you to change the Tag properties such as Name, Slug and Description
Quick Edit – Allows you to quickly change the Tag Name and Slug
Delete – Deletes the Tag permanently from the list of Tags.
View – This will list all the Posts that are currently using this Tag
If you would like to permanently delete numerous Tags at once, click the checkboxes next to the Tags you would like to delete and then choose Delete from the Bulk Actions dropdown list at the top of the page. After selecting Delete, click the Apply button to immediately delete the selected Tags (you will not be prompted to confirm your choice).